top of page

CMMC Readiness: Navigating Cybersecurity for Defense Contractors

Cybersecurity is a critical concern for the Department of Defense (DoD) and its contractors. To safeguard sensitive unclassified information and protect national security, the DoD introduced the Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) program and after much iterative modification, will soon release the final version for last inputs and approval. In this article, we’ll explore the main requirements for achieving CMMC readiness and provide an overview of the assessment process.

CMMC Readiness for Compliance


Understanding CMMC

The CMMC program aims to enhance cybersecurity practices within the Defense Industrial Base (DIB) and its supply chain. The program is designed to ensure that contractors and subcontractors handling DoD information meet specific levels of accreditation for cybersecurity. CMMC replaces the previous self-assessment model with a more rigorous and standardized approach.


Three Compliance Levels

CMMC operates on a tiered model with three progressive levels, Foundational, Advanced, and Expert, each corresponding to the type and sensitivity of information handled. As contractors move up the tiers, they must implement increasingly advanced cybersecurity standards. Additionally, subcontractors are also required to meet specific levels.

CMMC Accreditation Levels Chart


The Assessment Process

Achieving CMMC readiness involves several steps:

  1. Gauging Existing Controls: Companies should assess their current cybersecurity controls. This includes evaluating practices already in place for other compliance frameworks.

  2. Pre-CMMC Assessment: Conduct a pre-assessment to test adherence to CMMC practices. Identify any compliance gaps and areas for improvement.

  3. Augmenting Security Systems: Rectify compliance gaps identified during the pre- assessment. Implement necessary controls and processes to align with CMMC requirements.

Main Requirements for CMMC Readiness – A Checklist

1. Controlled Unclassified Information (CUI)

Understand the CUI relevant to your organization. CUI includes controlled unclassified information shared by the DoD with contractors. Protect this data effectively by implementing access controls, encryption, and secure communication practices.

2. System Security Plan (SSP)

Develop an SSP that outlines and details your security measures, policies, and standard operating procedures for safeguarding CUI and managing risks.

3. Employee Training and Awareness

Train employees in cybersecurity best practices. Awareness programs help prevent security incidents. The majority of cyber breaches are caused by human error.

4. Incident Response and Recovery Mechanisms

Establish procedures for handling security incidents. Quick response and recovery minimize damage.

5. Compliance Assessment and Continuous Improvement

Regularly assess compliance status with CMMC requirements. Continuously improve your DSPM – data security posture management.


6. Network and System Security Measures

Implement robust security measures across your networks and systems. This includes firewalls, intrusion detection systems, and secure configurations.

7. Data Protection for Sensitive Content

Encrypt and protect sensitive data. Ensure your data storage and data transmission systems are secure at the highest level attainable.


CMMC readiness will soon be a requirement for all defense contractors providing goods and services to the DIB. The accreditation process is highly detailed and not a quick endeavor. Gold Comet highly recommends you begin today to pre-assess your security status and find the areas where your protocols need improvement to reach full compliance. Gold Comet’s Data Storage, Data Sharing, and Messaging platform-as-a-service is patented, quantum secure, object level encrypted, and CMMC compliant – a great option for your secure data management!

Begin today to establish your CMMC Readiness. By adhering to CMMC requirements, your organization will not only safeguard and mitigate risk to your own data but will contribute to national security.



bottom of page